The Chip Experiement

vegetable-chips

“The English contribution to world cuisine – the chip.”–John Cleese

Yes, I am on a cleanse, but I had a crunchy craving so I figured if I can’t have store bought chips, I will make my own. The results were AWESOME! So awesome, I didn’t get a chance to take photos before eating them. However, I figured I would tell you the recipe anyway in case you wanted to try it out!

Veggie Chips Of AWESOME

You will need: 1-2 lbs of root vegetables of choice, olive oil, salt and pepper and or other seasonings,a mandolin slicer/ vegetable peeler, a few cookie sheets, tongs and an oven.

  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  • Slice your veggies using a mandolin or veggie peeler. You want them to be thin enough that they crisp up while baking. I used sweet potatoes and carrots, but you can use any root vegetable or hardy vegetable of your choosing. Eggplant,  beets, acorn squash, ect. No need to peel either if you don’t want to.
  • In a bowl, toss slices with a drizzle of olive oil. You want enough to slightly coat them, not be smothered in it so use it lightly. A little goes a long way.
  • Lay out on cookie sheet evenly as possible. They will shrink up while baking so if they are touching it isn’t a big deal.
  • Sprinkle with salt and pepper to taste. Feel free to add any other seasoning at this point too. Nutritional yeast would be great for a cheesy flavor packed full of vitamins.
  • Put in oven and let cook for 8-10 mins, take them out and turn them over and cook for another 5-10 mins. My sweet potatoes took about 25 mins in my oven, but my carrots only took about 15 so just watch it. You don’t want them to get burnt.
  • Once done, remove from cookie sheet and let cool in a small bowl. Then dig in! They will last about a week, but I doubt they will last that long because they are so yummy!

The best thing about these chips is the fact they are healthy for you. Yes, I said it. The reason why is because you are not using nearly the amount of oil that goes into deep frying and you can control how much you use. Plus, olive oil is great for your heart. Also using root vegetables gives you more nutrients than just plain old potato chips. So you can rest at ease knowing that all that yumminess isn’t going to go straight to your butt.

Oh, and here is a little tiddly-bit. I used a quote about chips above. The British slang term for chips is actually crisps. They call French Fries chips. Might seem a bit confusing since I used that quote in here, but it is one of my favorites and it seems appropriate. And they both are tasty none the less. Anyway, I hope you all enjoy and Namaste!

 

2 thoughts on “The Chip Experiement

  1. Those sound delish! I usually make my own potato wedges instead of getting them from local restaurants, but I do crave something crispy every once in a while and fries are not so good. Definitely trying this soon. 😀

Leave a Reply

