Where to eat in Chapel Hill? Red Lotus Asian Kitchen

“Better to be deprived of food for three days, than tea for one.”–Ancient Chinese proverb
So yesterday I took a lovely little excursion to Chapel Hill. While visiting, the plan was to go to a lovely little vegetarian restaurant called Sage Cafe. Sadly, it was closed, but we did end up discovering a hidden gem while on the search for food. We though sushi would be a good idea, but ended up at The Red Lotus Asian Kitchen. Can you say Best Chinese Food Ever?
First off, I cook a ton of authentic Chinese food at home. I have never had authentic Chinese out and about; it has always been Americanized which makes me rather sad. I thought for a long time if you wanted REAL Chinese, you have to go to a huge city like NYC or San Fran to get it. WRONG!!! Only an hour or so away from my house. *does happy dance* From the outside, it just looks like another strip mall food place, but once I stepped in and saw 3 Chinese newspapers from today just sitting there on the table I knew I was going to be impressed.
It was quite busy for a Sunday night, the staff was friendly and answered all the questions I had, and it just felt homey. The tea was excellent, not the bagged kind you get at most Asian restaurants, but the real stuff that had the powder from the leaves  that came out in the last cup. We ordered some veggie pot stickers that were pan fried and the sauce was even made from scratch. I really enjoyed the fact they could make ANYTHING on the menu with tofu or “soy chicken” and they could even veganize some of the soups too. 🙂
So I had the Honey Glazed Walnut Soy Chicken with brown rice and Bryce had the San Shan Jan Pong Noodles. Can you say AMAZING? Both of them were quite tasty and I am sad I didn’t have any leftovers to bring home. I will defiantly be going back. I think anyone who enjoys Chinese food should check this place out, herbivores and canivors alike. I hope you all enjoy and Namaste!
Leave a Reply

