Headstands

“I offer you peace. I offer you love. I offer you friendship. I see your beauty. I hear your need. I feel your feelings. My wisdom flows from the Highest Source. I salute that Source in you. Let us work together for unity and love.” ~ Gandhi

Sometimes standing on your head can give you a new perspective on life. With life being turned on its head for me I figured maybe being upside down would maybe do me some good. It really just reminded me why I love inversions so much in yoga. I tend to get caught up in a back bends, forward bends twists…but occasionally I will remember to allow myself to do inversions.

I try to practice all the stuff I could improve on when it comes to yoga, and my headstands are quite awesome so I don’t do the as often. I think it is time that I start adding them back in to keep me sane. You know how people get awesome ideas in the shower? That happens to me when I am practicing yoga, especially if I am upside down.

So, what is the best way to do a headstand? Well this is what works for me. Start in a squatting position with your hands firmly placed on the floor. Breath in and bend elbows and place your head behind your hands on the floor. Take your knees and place them on your elbows so you are in what is called Reversed crow pose. Stay here for a few breaths, and when you are ready lift your legs up and straight till you are fully inverted. Stay here for 5 breathes, then return to inverted crow and then back down to squatting position.

Not only does this help you work on balance and core strength, it also helps keep your skin glowing (plus helps lift your face. HELLO!) and helps relieve depression. Plus if you break it out at a party all your friends will be impressed. 😉 I hope you all enjoy and Namaste!

3 thoughts on “Headstands

Leave a Reply

