What it Means to be Missing

We ourselves feel that what we are doing is just a drop in the ocean. But the ocean would be less because of that missing drop.-Mother Teresa

Contemplation of more serious matters have been running through my mind as of late. Maybe it’s the fact that I have more time to think and actually feel what I am doing since my life has started to become more turbulent. I have started noticing the pieces that were missing, the ones that didn’t need to be there any longer, ones who were holing me back, ones that were still painful to move, and especially the ones that I am grateful for having. People often don’t take the time to examine their self very often because it hurts too much. So we stay busy so we don’t have to think about it, drowning the pain with activities and other peoples issues so we can ignore our own.
We are all guilty of it, we all do it at some point or another, but now has come the time for me to actually face these issues. I spent most of the day on Friday just sleeping, thinking, writing, crying and trying to get rid of what cold bug I still had left. It was a lot to process, but most good things are and slowly I am coming out of the little hole I dug to hide in. I know me not having a job does not decrease my self worth (even though it feels like it) and I have plenty of opportunities before me to succeed. I have great friends, family and a roof over my head. Still…I feel like I have puzzle pieces missing. I am sure they will fall into place when the time is right and in the mean time I just have to do what I can and hang tight.
So, here is a poem I wrote on Wednesday. I hope you all enjoy and Namaste.
What it Means to be Missing
by: Michelle Curry
Missing…
               Missing a shoe, missing a button, missing you?
Missing a turn, missing a word, missing how things use to be…
               How we kissed, how we danced, how we touched…
                             How not a word was spoken and yet so much was said in
One       Single            Breath…
Missing out, missing a chance, missing a turn…
                To take back all those things that were said that night
we were both drunk…
                 And taking our fears out on one another…
                                       Can I still try?
Can I take it back?
              Can I just wipe it all clean and pretend it didn’t happen…
So that you and I would still be here…
              Together…
                               Forever?
Missing parts, missing memories, missing hearts…
                That were once bound but are no longer. And this…
this is what it means to be missing.
                 Missing          You…
This is the hardest thing I have ever had to do.
One thought on “What it Means to be Missing

  1. To know others means you are wise, to know yourself mean you are enlightened~Buddhist proverb.

    Just know michelle that we, your friends will be there for you. You are loved…more than you know.

Leave a Reply

