Sick…(home remedies)

624

Much of your pain is the bitter potion by which the physician within you heals your sick self.–Khalil Gibran

So on top of everything else, I have come down with a cold. BLAH!!!!! Honestly, it makes it hard to go out and apply for jobs when you have a runny sniffley nose and you keep coughing and hacking. Tiz my luck I suppose. I think all the stress has gotten to me and then it manifested itself into a lovely illness that would knock me on my tuccus. My normal plan of attack for being ill is not really working as well.

I normally just take some Fluease, take elderberry syrup, drink lots of tea, have some zinc lozenges, use some Vicks vapor rub, sleep a little more, use some Vicks natural tablets if need be and I am good! NOPE!!! No matter what I do, I still cough…and cough and cough and cough and cough and oh yeah cough some more till I start to wonder if I have TB. Instead of resorting to antibiotics though, I am going to have to break out my secret weapon that always works. Homemade German Cough Syrup or HGCS for short. I adapted this recipe from something my grandma use to make me when I was little and really sick. Ive added a few of my own cold busting ingredients to it to make it pack more of a punch. πŸ™‚

Homemade German Cough Syrup

Ingredients: One medium onion (purple or vidalia), 10 fresh cloves of garlic, an inch piece of freshly grated ginger, juice of 2-3 lemons, 8 tablespoons of honey (can substitute maple syrup), few cracks of black pepper, 1 twig of licorice root, 1/4 cup of whiskey or bourbon, 3 cloves (optional).

chop onion, grate ginger, and crush garlic cloves and saute over low heat till caramelized in a medium sized pot. Remove and blend till smooth, then add back to the pot. Add in the lemon juice and honey and simmer for 5 mins. Add in black pepper, licorice, cloves, and whiskey and simmer till it is reduced to a thicker consistency. Remove licorice and cloves and place in a glass jar. Can be stored in fridge for up to 2 weeks. Can be taken straight as much as needed throughout the day to suppress coughing. Also can be put in tea.

So why does it work? Onions and garlic are what you would call antimicrobial and antiviral. Meaning they prevent you from getting some sort of bug, thus shortening your cold. Ginger helps with congestion and has a warming effect. Plus if you’re having tummy issues it helps in that department as well. Lemons have loads of vitamin C and get rid of germs. Honey coats your throat and also is antimicrobial, there is loads of nutrients in it especially if it is local so get the good stuff! Black pepper is warming and helps with congestion. Licorice root is great for sore throats and helps suppress coughing. Cloves also help with nasal congestion. The whiskey helps to preserve the ingredients, but it also has a bit of a fire to it so it will help expel whatever crud you have in your chest, plus alcohol kills germs.

So needless to say, it is a powerhouse of ingredients that will nip any cold or illness in the bud. Plus, when I was little I thought it tasted weird so I didn’t want to cough. Now I actually like the flavor of it and it works like a charm. So, if you are feeling a bit under the weather, then try this on for size. Couldn’t hurt. If it is something more serious though, please go see a doctor. Hope you all enjoy and Namaste!

2 thoughts on “Sick…(home remedies)

  1. You could also call it light body symptom. Many people get it now…

    Funny, I am german but didn’t know this recipe. I feel more german now that I know πŸ˜‰

    Get well soon
    Blessings

    • This is very true. This recipe is so old it’s been passed down for ages. I’ve adapted it with a few ingredients like ginger, but for the most part it’s the same. Thanks for the get well wishes! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

