Snowed in (Day 3 in Rocky Hill, Connecticut)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

“A snowball in the face is surely the perfect beginning to a lasting friendship.” ― Markus Zusak, The Book Thief

When I awoke this morning at 8:30, I looked out the window and by golly there was three feet snow on the ground!!!! The cars were covered, it was practically impossible to get out the door, but it was magical looking. Most of the day we stayed inside and I kept myself occupied with cooking. We also read a lot and watched Ferris Bueller’s Day Off which is one of my favorite 80’s movies. 🙂

As you can tell from the pictures though, we did manage to walk outside for a bit. The snow was super powdery and when you’re only five feet and an inch tall, three feet of snow is quite a bit. Needless to say I got stuck a few times but thankfully I was helped out. Seeing Chris roll around in the snow though was pretty funny. There were tons of people trying to clear the roads outside of the apartments with snow blowers and snow shovels. Sadly the people in the buildings near us must have been lazy because there were only a few of them cleaning up.

I think next time I come up here I am going to invest in some snow shoes though. that would have made walking a lot easier. And maybe a sled… and snow pants. All my winter stuff was left at home so I was very ill prepared! Still though, I have never seen that much snow in my entire life! It wasn’t wet snow so it was not very good for making a snowman or snowballs, it flew in my face a lot.

So as far as cooking goes, I managed to make a roasted butternut squash soup, vegan peanut butter banana oatmeal cookies (nom nom nom), tempe stirfry with veggies and quinoa in a satay sauce, and (drum roll please)……..SNOW CREAM!!!! Yes, I made snow cream and its delicious. Here is my recipe:

  • 10 cups of snow
  • 1/2 cup agave nectar
  • 1 tbsp vanilla
  • 1 cup almond milk

Stir all ingredients together and then eat it! That’s it 🙂

However, I had an idea of what other flavors you could use besides vanilla. One of my favorite ice creams is pineapple basil, and what if I did that with snow cream? Use pineapple juice and chunks with snow and chop up some basil in there. No need for sugar really if you don’t want it and PRESTO! Healthy vegan option for snow days! Maybe I should make a snow cream shop of some sort and make oodles of money…

Anywho, hopefully we will be unburied from this mess by tomorrow so i can make it to the airport on time. I don’t really want to go home, but I got to. Sigh… Just means I am going to have to come up here the next chance I get for a longer amount of time. Also we are planning on having a cooking prep day so it should be interesting trekking to the grocery store! Stay tuned and Namaste!

Leave a Reply

