Home again, Home again, Jiggity Jog (Day 4 in Rocky Hill, CT)

“Words are only painted fire, a look is the fire itself. She gave that look, and carried it away to the treasury of heaven, where all things that are divine belong.” ― Mark Twain, A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court

Today is bitter sweet, it is my last day in Rocky Hill, Connecticut. I am rather sad to leave for several reasons. I feel like my perspective has been changed since I have arrived here. Everyone was so nice and genuine, I was in great company, explored new things, learned a lot and well…it just feels like home. More so than Winston-Salem, North Carolina.

Don’t get me wrong, home will always be home to me, but once in awhile you have an experience that just lights a fire under your ass and it really makes you want to do something to move forward in life. That is one reason why I chose the quote above. I love Mark Twain and A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur’s Court is probably one of my favorites I have read by him. It is rather suiting for the setting I am in.

One day I am a Southern Belle living in her home town and then out of the blue a Michigan transplant to Connecticut blows into my life because of a mutual friend we have while he is on business. I never knew that meeting him would change my life so drastically, but in a good way. Since that point I have been blogging, making art, traveling out the wazoo, changed my diet and now that I have finally visited I feel like my life is entering into a new chapter.

The world just seems bigger, brighter and more obtainable. It is mine for the taking and I am not going to back down either. I have had several people try and bring me down with them, but now I am at a point where I am lifting myself up and going to continue on that way. My perspective is larger and ever changing and I am not just a small town southern girl anymore. I am a traveler, explorer, creator and so much more.

And just like Hank Morgan in Mark Twain’s novel, one little thing can change a person a lot. One moment can transpire into a whirlwind of change that leads into greatness and excitement. All good things must come to an end though to make way for new adventures and journeys…I am going to miss this place though, as well as Chris. I am thinking coming up here for spring break isn’t a bad idea either. My flight leaves around 7 and I should be home before midnight. It is going to be odd going back, but that just means i will have to set up time to plan my next adventure.

I will let you all know how it went tomorrow.  By the way, I am not juicing today because I am on vacation so tomorrow I shall make up for it and possibly do it for a few days to reboot my system since I have been eating cookies and snow cream while I have been here. Wish me luck on my flight back, Namaste!

Leave a Reply

