How to be mindful while flying

“The Guide says there is an art to flying”, said Ford, “or rather a knack. The knack lies in learning how to throw yourself at the ground and miss.”― Douglas Adams, Life, the Universe and Everything

 

I didn’t go to bed till three last night because I was so nervous about today…and I was still packing (why must you have a quart bag limit for liquids? Like really?) Yes, I have anxiety but this was more of a “OMFG IT’S HAPPENING FINALLY!!!!” nervousness than a “OMFG…I don’t wanna die…HELP!” Regardless, it got me thinking of all the other people who, like me, either haven’t flown before or are anxious. So, what do you do to calm your nerves and come back to center while in a metal box with wings thousands of feet up in the air? YOGA/MEDITATE!!!!

“But what if people look at me funny?” Who cares? I mean really, I have seen far weirder things than someone sitting calmly with their eyes closed and breathing slowly while traveling, or even day to day. Same with yoga poses, besides it is a conversation starter. All you have to do is smile anyway and either that gets them to leave you alone or you make a new friend. Simple.

But what can you do on an airplane as far as yoga? Well, it is the same as chair yoga but maybe a smidge more cramped. Twist from side to side, do a siting forward bend, bring your knees to your chest, go to the bathroom and do some standing postures if need be. You get to be creative here and it is a challenge, but a fun one. If you aren’t up for the postures though then meditation here really isn’t as different as it is on the ground. All you have to do is remember to breath.

Here is another tip, if you really don’t want people to bug you while you meditate, then slip on an eye mask and put in some ear plugs. They will think you are sleeping and try not to bother you (at least that is my theory, I wouldn’t bug someone if they had an eye mask on). So, those are my plans for while I am jet set. Plus a good book, some pen and paper to write and decent music on my iPhone. I will let you all know how it goes and wish me luck! Namaste!

2 thoughts on “How to be mindful while flying

Leave a Reply

