I Believe in Yesterday

Screen Shot 2013-02-02 at 7.15.13 PM

Go to heaven for the climate, hell for the company. -Mark Twain

Yesterday, All my troubles seemed so far away. Now it seems as though they are here to stay. Oh I believe in Yesterday… The Beatles are genius. I think that goes without saying, but it is good to mention the obvious now and again. I’m going to be honest here and say I had no idea what in god’s name I was going to write about tonight, and then along came this idea. Within my blog I talk a lot about mindfulness, taking steps, and accepting where we are right now. To be in  the now is not an easy task, and so we tend to get stuck in “yesterday’ or “tomorrow” or even “5 years from now”.

Even the Buddha had to deal with this problem before he reached his enlightenment. We are human, we are imperfect and we need to accept it. We are not a machine that runs on a schedule, nor do we have a clock in and clock out time. We are sporadic creatures and that is perfectly okay. My biggest issue is clinging too much to my past (as you all could probably tell from my previous post). I can’t fix who I was back then, I can’t go back in time and tell myself what I should or shouldn’t do and I can’t “save myself” either. As much as I would like to be my own knight in shining armor that arrives in The Tardis and uses my sonic screwdriver to end all of my sorrows; it is impossible because I am not the Dr. nor is that an actual form of reality.

I can, however, make peace with my past, my monsters, and just let go. Easy said than done, but the least I can do is try. So here is my goal for this weekend, I am going to make a lovely little list of horrors and things that I am so afraid of. Then I am going to analyze those fears and then write down my “cures” for those things (meaning rationals and such). I think that will help me fight the yesterday monster at least.

On that note, today was the first day I actually got up out of bed and did yoga without having to force myself in a good while. It felt really good, I know I am still a bit rusty and I am having to work on my forward bends more than my backbends or balancing postures. It is weird that I can do all the ticks and harder postures but not able to touch my toes so easily. Not exactly sure what that means, but at least I have a point of reference to work on. Maybe its me wanting to go forward in life instead of back into my past…but we shall see. So this is where I leave you all tonight. Find out what your monsters are, whether they are from yesterday, today or tomorrow; then face them and slice them in two like the knight you know you really are inside. Namaste!


P.S. here is a video from one of my fav yogis. Sadie Nardini is awesome and you should check out her youtube channel 😉

Leave a Reply

