Diet changes

So you remember how I started out wanting to do this whole “vegan diet” for a month and then change into a macrobiotic diet? Well I have had some thoughts on all of this and I have decided to extend my veganism for a good while. Yes, I have decided to stay vegan. YAY!!!! All you veg heads out there can cheer and be super happy now.

However, there is one thing I will go ahead and say. I AM NOT GOING TO BE PERFECT!!!!! There are days when I am going to want to have a delicious juicy cheese burger (cruelty free, local and organic please) and I might give into my cravings. This does not mean I am a horrible vegan and will be punished by the vegan gods or PETA is going to shun and attack me.

I come from a mindset of if you are going to eat the animal make sure it is local, organic, and cruelty free and by god eat the whole damn thing! I am a very strong supporter of Nose to Tail cooking. It makes sense. It is wasteful not to cook the entire animal and use all of it to make something. Tan the hide and make a coat or pair of shoes, use the bones as fertilizer once all the marrow is out of it, use all the meat and stuff to feed your families and know that it was a happy animal when you got it from your local farmer. You are supporting your community people!!!

Also, there are times when I can not avoid eating things like dairy or eggs. Not many places here in NC, or the South in general, cook without butter, cheese, yogurt, eggs, ect. That is okay.  So if I have a little goat cheese on my salad that was from a local source  I am not going to freak out. I will take pleasure in the once in a blue moon treat. I’ll do my best to avoid it, but I am not going to be like, “Oh, well there is nothing vegan here so I will just eat nothing.” Skipping meals is more detrimental to my health and yours than having to suck it up and deal with a little butter.

I have also found out through this experiment that dairy and me are not friends…at least conventional dairy. Highly processed hormone injected monster cow milk is not healthy. Raw milk from local places on the other hand is. Why? Flash pasteurization kills all the good stuff in the milk and denatures the proteins so that it makes you have all this gunk in your throat. That’s why it also leaches calcium from your bones. People always say “Oh well what about the bacteria in the milk!!!” You know why their is bacteria in the milk? Because those cows at the conventional farm are being pumped full of hormones, milked to death, constantly becoming pregnant so they keep making milk, and becoming sick because of it. I don’t know about you, but that doesn’t sound awesome to me. Also, a little bit of dirt isn’t going to kill you, it builds your immune system. So IF I have dairy at all (which is going to be very rare to begin with), I will be using that. Same goes with eggs. Local, farm raised eggs are much better for you than the ones you get at the local grocery store (plus they taste delicious).

So there is my rant and how I feel about food. I am not going to be the “Super Natzi Vegan” that everyone fears and throws paint on fur coats. I am coming from a place of compassion and understanding. I am willing to talk about my experiences, share my story and inspire others to live a more plant based lifestyle. I am not going to flip out on someone for ordering a steak in front of me either. Fighting fire with fire brings war and destruction, only love can bring peace. I also recommend the book “The Kind Diet” for people interested in the way I am eating. It is a wonderful book and has changed my perspective on veganisim as a whole. Best part is I read it last year around this time and I still remember a lot of it. It also comes with really tasty recipes. 🙂

Also, I will be posting my “update” tomorrow since it is the last day of January so i can give my thoughts on how this whole thing feels. I will also be making a poetic post to make up for Sunday probably tomorrow or Friday. I am also going on a trip to Connecticut next week from Wednesday-Sunday. I will be making regular posts during my trip so stay tuned. I hope you all enjoy and Namaste!

2 thoughts on “Diet changes

  1. What a fun, alive writing style you have! I have also made changes to my diet in the last few years, after 30 years as a strict vegetarian. I’m learning that each of our bodies have distinct intolerances, and one must experiment to find the right balance (at the right time in life). What a fun process. I will definitely return to read more in future!

    • Oh well thank you and I totally agree! Everyone is different and what might work for one might not work for another. 🙂 I hope you enjoy the rest of my posts as much as this one.

Leave a Reply

