The Sh*t Yogis Say

“Undisturbed calmness of mind is attained by cultivating friendliness toward the happy, compassion for the unhappy, delight in the virtuous, and indifference toward the wicked.” ― Patanjali

So this is finally my makeup post for that day that I missed a week or so ago. I love this video and it cracks me up every time I see it. But there is a good point to all of this, “What is it that makes you a yogi?” It is a really interesting question, it’s like what makes you a chef, artist or a bird watcher? There are so many different perspectives and theories on this, but I think it all boils down to one thing. Is it in your heart?

In my heart of hearts, I know deep down I am an artist, lover of food, deep and loving being of light and a yogi. No, I might not be able to put my legs behind my head or be able to practice for 2 hours every day, but I know that I am a yogi. Or a yogini to be exact since I am a woman. It is not just the postures, it is the way you live and breath and act. It is a way of life.

Plus yoga is more than just being able to hold Down Dog for 15 mins straight or standing on your head. Once you start practicing, the postures just lead into the practice of your life and being able to move freely and calmly. We open our minds to new possibilities and learn that you don’t have to yell at your kids or have to have the dishes washed right after supper. The world is not going to fall apart and you are being your best self at that moment. No one is perfect and that is okay.

I hope you all enjoy. Namaste!

Leave a Reply

