Confessions of a Juicaholic

“If life gives you lemons, make some kind of fruity juice.”–Conan O’Brien

In my last update on how my vegan diet is going, I decided that I was going to start juice fasting one day a week. Reasons being are…well I love juicing! I have been doing it for awhile and I tend to get strange comments when I just have juice. People get very worried that I am not having solid food or I am not getting all the needed nutrients in my body since it is liquids. Truth is I get more nutrients than most people in America on a daily basis.

With juicing, what you are doing is breaking down the food in a manner that your body can easily absorb into the body quickly. All the vitamins and minerals are still there and it gives your body a break from processing food and is a good restart. Plus it is great for people who just don’t like salads and just want to get it out of the way and say “down the hatch” and still be fairly healthy. I am sure there are some of you who are still skeptical though.

You are not starving your body, you are just having liquids. It is the same when you decide you are going to have soup or things of that nature when you are sick. When I am sick, I don’t really like eating much of anything and liquids tend to go down easier. You are still feeding your body, you just aren’t shewing and that is something you have to get use to. It is a mental thing where you just have this urge to “chew” and be “normal”, but it passes.

You aren’t filling up on sugars either. Most of my juices are veggies with some fruit mixed in. Like an apple or a pear to sweeten it just a bit. When people think juice, they think that bottled stuff on the store shelves that are all fruit and have been processed into sugars and just gives your body a huge sugar rush! This is not the case. It is fresh, it is quick and all the nutrients are still intact. I will admit that a fresh fruit juice is just as yummy as my veggie ones, but I like having more greens. Plus you can also juice sweet potatoes, beets, and carrots which are also super sweet and delicious.

You also don’t have to waste the fiber. If you are using a traditional juicer you will notice a little bucket that has all the pulp in it from what you just juiced. You can put that back through and get a 2nd batch, but it wont be as much as the first. You can also make what is called “pulp bread” and add some yummy fiber to a sweet/savory treat. I make a cocoa zucchini bread (vegan of course) and tend to put my juice pulp in there. Turns out fantastic and you cant even tell that it is in there! If you don’t want to make the bread, then you can also make it into fruit/veggie leathers via dehydration. Or you can make a smoothie instead if you want the extra fiber. This tends to work better for greens anyway because they are so delicate. They also tend to be more filling so you don’t feel like you are starving. Plus most people have a blender and you can use it for more than just smoothies if you go out and buy one.

Now, I have done fasts where I juice for 10-14 days straight and that does take quite a bit of will power. It is great for your body to give it a reboot and you can still incorporate the juice into your daily diet once you go back to solids. However, I think for my lifestyle right now it is better to just incorporate a fasting day every week so I have a fresh start. It is also great for my spiritual practice. I think most people can manage to do just one day of juice and be able to tell a difference. Give it a shot if you don’t believe me. 🙂

So what I have been “feasting” on today has been kale, spinach, arugula, Bartlet pear, cucumber and celery with a little lime and grapefruit. It looks very green ans smells bitter but it is quite delicious. I think this evening though I will break it up and add in some carrots too. I hope you all enjoy and namaste!

 

6 thoughts on “Confessions of a Juicaholic

Leave a Reply

