Snow, and chia seeds

My dog Bear in the snow last year.

My dog Bear in the snow last year.

So it has decided to be winter here in NC. All of this lovely rain has turned into slush, sleet and finally snow. Funny enough it is actually sticking. I have a feeling I will be able to make snow cream. ๐Ÿ™‚ Oh, and if you don’t know what snow cream is, it is where you take freshly fallen snow, mix it with sugar, vanilla and milk (flax milk for me thank you) and then you eat it like ice cream. Its delicious! I guess it is a Southern thing, but its quite yummy and I rather enjoy making it because it reminds me of my child hood.

Since there is not enough snow quite yet to make snow cream, I have decided to make chocolate pudding instead…via chia seeds! What are Chia seeds you ask? Well according to Wikipedia:

Salvia hispanica, commonly known as chia, is a species of flowering plant in the mint family, Lamiaceae, native to central and southern Mexico and Guatemala.The 16th century Codex Mendoza provides evidence that it was cultivated by the Aztec in pre-Columbian times; economic historians have suggested that it was as important as maize as a food crop. It is still used in Mexico and Guatemala, with the seeds sometimes ground, while whole seeds are used for nutritious drinks and as a food source.

So, that tells you what it is, its a seed that you can use for food. It was really popular growing up to plant them on pottery and grow what was called a chia pet. Oh the 90’s and its funny fads… It is really good for you though. Here is why also via Wikipedia:

According to the USDA, a one ounce (28 gram) serving of chia seeds contains 9 grams of fat, 5 milligrams of sodium, 11 grams of dietary fiber and 4 grams of protein. The seeds also have 18% of the recommended daily intake of calcium, 27% phosphorus and 30% manganese, similar in nutrient content to other edible seeds such as flax or sesame. Although preliminary research indicates potential for dietary health benefits, this work remains sparse and inconclusive. Chia seed consumption has been reported in the public media and is purportedly used by athletes.

And those are just some of the benefits! The best part is if it is submerged in liquid, then it expands and becomes gelatinous or thickens the liquid that it is in. So it is great for making desserts, stews, specialty drinks and so on. The first time I had them was in Kombucha, which is a proboitic drink. I loved how it made it feel like I was eating really liquidy jello.ย  So, I decided to buy some and see what I could make with them.

So, I have decided to try making it into a pudding. My recipe includes: 1/4 cup chia seeds, 1 cup light coconut milk, 1/4 cup of maple syrup (did not have agave but it works just the same), 2 tablespoons natural Cocoa powder, 1 table spoon vanilla extract, and a hand-full of vegan chocolate chips. I was also going to add in dried cherries, but I ate them all and did not have time to go and buy some more. You take all the ingredients and mix them together till it is well combined, then throw it in the fridge for 2-3 hours. Then you eat it!

I tasted it before putting it in the fridge and it was quite yummy, but I am sure it will be better once it has a chance to firm up. You can change up the recipe how ever you would like if you want a different flavor. I have heard it works well with fruit, other nut milks and even citrus juice. Just wing it and see what happens. ๐Ÿ™‚ It will be nice to have a dessert for once…I have been craving them lately, but I figured if I made something healthy then it wouldn’t be so bad to trick my taste buds.

Well I hope you all enjoy and tell me what creations you make with this superfood! Namaste!

โ€œDid you ever stop to taste a carrot?ย  Not just eat it, but taste it?ย  You canโ€™t taste the beauty and energy of the earth in a Twinkie.โ€ ~ Astrid Alauda

 

4 thoughts on “Snow, and chia seeds

Leave a Reply

