The Importance of Home Cooking

Sorry for not posting yesterday. I had a lot going on and by the time I got home it was midnight and I wanted to pass out. Never the less, Ill be doing a double post this week to make up for it. So, since I was out and about last night because of writing club, I had to rely on take out. Mellow Mushroom was quite yummy, but pizza is not that great for you. Yes, even if it’s vegan.

Tonight, however, I did manage to make a a really yummy home cooked meal. I made a delicious rendition of fajitas with black beans, onions, peppers, and mushrooms. I combined that with some raw spinach and a little salsa on a tortilla and VALA! Delicious vegan Mexican food. 🙂 I think I will be investing some money on avocados though… I missed the creamy texture that cheese adds. Plus it would help cut the spiciness.

So, the reason home made food is more healthy is you know exactly what you’re putting in it. When you eat out, you are getting more calories from oil, increasing your salt intake, and having to eat gargantuan proportions. So, home made meals are already healthier just by those numbers. And even though that pizza was delicious, I know that it was not that good for my body.

I will be posting some of the recipes i try out this week. I also highly recomend checking out vegweb.com for good ideas. 🙂 Hope you all enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

