The Vegan Supper

Image

So, in short I love to cook. It is one of my favorite things to do, especially when I get to cook for others. The way their faces light up when they eat the goodies I have made just makes me beam with joy and thankfulness. However, with becoming vegan it has been interesting when it comes to food. The normal things I would reach for on a daily basis are now off limits. Cheese in salads to give it that extra kick, cream in soups to make it velvety, some bacon to go with the collard greens to make them smoky, you get the idea.

This is the first vegan meal I have really cooked in awhile. I have been too busy to really “cook” this week so I have just picked up things at local places and made salads. Tonight, however, I made something amazing! Stir-fried veggies with an orange turmeric sauce, black rice and coconut flakes. It was quite spicy, totally unintended but delicious. Most of my food has an Asian/ Indian inspiration to it. I cook lots of different dishes, but most of the time I am making Thai or something along those lines.

I also don’t really follow recipes unless I have to. This was one of those “hmmm, what do i have in my kitchen” kind of days and I am quite pleased with myself. So, here is the “recipe” if you would like to try it out.

  1. Chop up a cup or 2 of preferred vegetables of choice. In a pan on medium heat, toss vegetables in a tbsp of oil of choice and cook for a few mins.
  2. Squeeze the juice of one orange into pan, add a pinch of turmeric powder, 2 dashes of Hungarian paprika, and add salt and pepper to taste. Then add in a pinch of sugar (or sweetener of choice) and a tbsp of soy sauce (or liquid aminos, that’s what i used). cook till tender and sauce has reduced.
  3. In another pan, cook your gain of choice with a little sesame oil, salt and pepper till done (Quinoa would be great as well if you aren’t a fan of rice).
  4. Place a serving of grains in bowl as well as your stir-fry on top. Top with coconut flakes or another nut of choice. Then eat!

Simple as pie. 🙂 I used cucumber, spinach, tomatoes and mushrooms. You could also add a little seaweed here for extra yumminess! Be creative, enjoy cooking your food as much as you would eating it. After all, love is always the secret ingredient. That’s why grandmas food always tastes so good! I hope you all enjoy and are inspired to be contagious in your cooking. Enjoy!

Health is the greatest gift, contentment the greatest wealth, faithfulness the best relationship. –Buddha

Leave a Reply

